This palace was built by Sheikh Khaz’al of Muhammarah, a friend of Sheikh Mubarak, in 1916. After his death, his widow continued to live in the building. Freya Stark went to visit her in 1937. The building served as the Kuwait National Museum from 1957 until 1976. The building began to deteriorate and was further damaged during the invasion. It is currently on the tentative list to become a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The older photographs of the building come from “Kuwait by the first Photographers” and Maha Alessa’s instagram. Across the street are the ruins of the Al Ghanim house. Here and here are interesting posts with old photographs of the palace from Ali al Rais.
The images below come from “Voice of the Oud” by Jehan Rejab.
The ruins are near the British Embassy, which was built in 1935. The photograph of it below comes from “Kuwait by the First Photographers.” The postcard dates to the 1950s. The last two images come from The Kuwait Urbanization by Saba George Shiber.